[TV] Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones

Disclaimer: this impression is based on the first seven seasons of the show.

TV

Seasons

Game of Thrones is my favorite TV series that does everything one would ever want from a gritty medieval fantasy adventure, but I feel that its later seasons are not as well-thought out as the earlier, no doubt because they ran out of the book material.

I’ll see how the final, eighth, season plays out, but while I enjoyed every second of the season seven, there were twists that made me raise an eyebrow, and I don’t feel I like where some things are going, concentrating more attention on the mute undead threat than human politics where the show used to excel at.

In any case, while I didn’t feel like that after the first five seasons, I currently think I’m going to read the books after all… if they ever get finished.

Positive:
Negative:
Awesome cinematography
Later seasons that are not longer based on the books don’t feel as polished
Fascinating, gritty medieval fantasy setting
Immersing, dark atmosphere
Interesting, likable, profound characters
Enthralling plot full of twists
Fantastic pacing with something interesting happening all the time
Solid, well thought-out story fueled by medieval politics

 

Leave a Reply

